Co-Chairs

The Honorable William Ruckelshaus The Honorable

Norman Mineta

Members

Frances Beinecke

Donald Boesch, Ph.D.

Lillian Borrone

The Honorable Norman Dicks

Quenton Dokken, Ph.D.

Vice Admiral Paul Gaffney, U.S. Navy (Retired)

Robert Gagosian, Ph.D.

Sherri Goodman

Scott Gudes

Vice Admiral Conrad Lautenbacher, Ph.D. U.S. Navy (Retired)

Margaret Leinen, Ph.D.

Christopher Lischewski

The Honorable Jane Lubchenco, Ph.D.

Julie Packard

The Honorable Leon Panetta

John Pappalardo

The Honorable Pietro Parravano

Diane Regas

Randy Repass

Andrew Rosenberg, Ph.D.

The Honorable Christine Todd Whitman November 24, 2015

Dear Bill,

As your friends and colleagues serving under your steady guidance, along with Norm Mineta, on the Joint Ocean Commission Initiative Leadership Council, we write to congratulate you on an extremely well-deserved recognition: being awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom.

Your dedication and commitment to bringing a new management approach to restoring our oceans and coasts is but the latest in a remarkable career of public and private service to the nation: spearheading efforts to restore the Puget Sound and protect salmon in the Pacific Northwest, serving with distinction alongside Admiral James Watkins on the U.S. Commission on Ocean Policy, co-chairing a blue ribbon panel in Washington State on ocean acidification, and working tirelessly to bring collaborative approaches to difficult natural resource issues through the two institutions that bear your name. These are just a few of the notable accomplishments that influenced your selection as a recipient of our nation's highest civilian honor.

Your unflinching integrity in the face of adversity, your wisdom and central role in establishing a science-based and transparent system of environmental protections for the country, your contributions to the international community in proposing and developing the principles of sustainable development as a part of the Brundtland Commission, and your continued leadership of the Joint Initiative Leadership Council have all left an indelible and positive mark on our world.

The Joint Ocean Commission Initiative now has the distinct honor of being led by two recipients of the Presidential Medal of Freedom.

Our heartfelt congratulations on this honor, Bill. We are all inspired and elevated by your example.

Joint Initiative Leadership Council Members

Frances Beinecke | Don Boesch | Lillian Borrone | The Honorable Norm Dicks Quenton Dokken | Vice Admiral Paul Gaffney | Robert Gagosian | Sherri Goodman | Scott Gudes | The Honorable Conrad Lautenbacher | Margaret Leinen | Christopher Lischewski | The Honorable Jane Lubchenco | Julie Packard The Honorable Leon Panetta | John Pappalardo | The Honorable Pietro Parravano Diane Regas | Randy Repass | Andrew Rosenberg | The Honorable Christine Todd Whitman

